MINUTES

The regular meeting of the Board of Education, Miller School District #29-4 was held on Monday June 14, 2021, in the Elementary School Library. The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by Natalie Bertsch, President of the Board. Other members in attendance were Vance Caffee, Amy Howard, Jonathan Hurd, Rob Mullaney, Connie Schroeder, and Tara Yost. Also in attendance were Dr. Charlene Crosswait, Superintendent, Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal, and Sara Gates, Business Manager. Others in attendance were John Page, Kristina Luczak, Courtney VanZee, Linda Deboer, Lisa Anson, Virgil Whetsel, Karen Geisinger, Sherry Gross, Katie Shipley, Jeanette Nye, Erica Jones, Stefan Jones, Lee Kolda, Shanna Kolda, Haley Coss, Brooke Carr, Kelli Van Vuuren, Aaron Van Vuuren, Maggie Daum, David Fremark, Ashlie Jones, and Andrea Mushitz.

Motion by Howard, second by Yost to approve the board agenda. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Mullaney to approve the consent agenda items.

- 1. Minutes of the May 10, 2021 regular meeting
- 2. Payment of presented bills
- 3. Financial Report
- 4. Surplus items as presented from music department, Sony TV, and textbooks.

All voting aye.

Haley Coss was recognized and spoke on behalf of the skillbuilders/kindergarten parents.

Discussion was held on Senior banners.

Motion by Howard, second by Caffee to approve the Miller Athletic Handbook for school year 2021-2022 as presented. All voting aye.

Discussion on PBIS (Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports) training.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Yost to approve the addendum to the G&R Controls proposal as presented. Roll call vote. Voting aye: Caffee, Howard, Hurd, Mullaney, Schroeder, Yost, and Bertsch.

Motion by Hurd, second by Mullaney to authorize the business manager to transfer \$700,000.00 from the capital outlay fund to the general fund. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Mullaney to approve the use of our showers and to waive the fees for the bicycle riders that travel from coast to coast to raise money for cancer research and patient support services. All voting aye.

Motion by Yost, second by Hurd, to approve Jaimi Lammers as the school photographer for the 2021-2022 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Schroeder to approve \$250.00 to assist the FCCLA in expenses and out of state travel for Taya Pawlowski to attend the National FCCLA Convention in Nashville,TN on June 24-July 2, 2021. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting June 14, 2021 Page 2

Motion by Howard, second by Schroeder to vote for Todd Palmer as SDHSAA West River At-Large Representative, and Eric Denning as SDHSAA Division IV Representative Athletic/Activity Director. All voting aye.

Discussion on COVID testing.

Discussion on land development project east of the school.

Motion by Hurd, second by Schroeder to approve the sale of land for \$70,000.00 for the land development project to On-Hand Development. Roll call vote. Voting aye: Caffee, Howard, Hurd, Mullaney, Schroeder, Yost, and Bertsch.

Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal, reported on next year's enrollment and school wide RtI (Response to Intervention).

Sara Gates, Business Manager, congratulated Jenna Fulton, Tyra Gates, and Trisha Lammers for qualifying for the State HS Rodeo Finals which will be held June 16-19, 2021 in Fort Pierre, SD.

Dr. Charlene Crosswait, Superintendent, congratulated Jayce Pugh on her win at the State golf meet and Karren Rogers for being named Golf Coach of the year. She also congratulated Noah Johnson for placing 5th in the shot put and Ally Mullaney for placing 8th in the high jump at the State Track Meet. She recognized Tom McGough for being inducted into the SD Cross Country and Track & Field Coaches Association Hall of Fame and Hillary Smith for being named SD Cross Country and Track & Field Coaches Association Area 1 Assistant Cross Country Coach of the Year. She stated that Andrea Fiala was awarded a grant to buy a trailer for robotics and other school activities to use and the Miller Booster Club would also be contributing. She also stated that we received a grant to help with the removal of the underground fuel oil tank. She reported that the custodians have been painting classrooms and thanked them for all their hard work

Motion by Howard, second by Yost to enter into Executive Session for the express purpose of student issues SDCL 1-25-2 (2) at 7:36 p.m. All voting aye.

President Bertsch declared return to regular session at 8:27 p.m.

Motion by Hurd, second by Yost to enter into Executive Session for the express purpose of personnel issues SDCL 1-25-2 (1) at 8:27 p.m. All voting aye.

President Bertsch declared return to regular session at 9:04 p.m.

Minutes recorded by the Superintendent.

Regular Meeting June 14, 2021 Page 3

Motion by Schroeder, second by Howard to accept the resignation of Terrell Newton as Library Aide, Athletic Director, Girls Varsity Basketball Coach, and Junior High Girls Basketball Coach. All voting aye.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Yost to approve the work agreement for Josh Haaland as Athletic Director in the amount of \$5,033.00 for the 2021-2022 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Caffee to approve the certified contract for Trey Tiefenthaler as PE Teacher in the amount of \$41,250.00 for 2021-2022 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Hurd to approve the work agreement for Kristina Luczak as .5 Prom Advisor in the amount of \$412.50 for the 2021-2022 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Yost to approve the work agreement for Kassandra Foreman as .5 Prom Advisor in the amount of \$412.50 for the 2021-2022 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Yost to approve the lane change request for Carrie Schumacher from BA to BA+30 in the amount of \$664.00 for a total certified contract in the amount of \$48,344.00. All voting aye.

The next regular school board meeting is scheduled for Monday, July 12, 2021 at 6:30 p.m. in the elementary school library.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Howard to adjourn at 9:08 p.m. All voting aye.

Natalie Bertsch, President Board of Education
Sara Gates Business Manager